27 March 2018|Basketball

Historic Double for Basketball Squads
Colaiste Muire’s first year (minor) and second year (junior) basketball teams have qualified for the All Ireland Playoffs in the schools C league following impressive wins in Ballybunion on Thursday, March 22nd. Both teams had finished top of their respective groups having put in solid performances against Castletroy College, Hazelwood College Dromcolliher and John the Baptist Hospital.
In the semi-finals both teams defeated Killorglin with first years winning 45-16 and second years victorious on a scoreline of 37-10.
In the finals both teams defeated Ballybunion with first years winning 34-20 and second years 31-19.
Colàiste will host minor playoffs on Monday, April 23rd when the girls will play East 1( St Joseph’s SS Lucan), S2 ( St Mary’s Charleville) and SE2(Ramsgrange CS).
Colàiste will also host Junior Playoffs two days later on Wednesday, April 25th when second years will play E1( Rathdown SS), S2( Scoil Phobail Bheara), SE2( Gaelccholaiste Cheatharlach)

Minor(1st year) South West Region Basketball Champions
Back row: Rachel Daly, Adele Mc Hugh, Sarah Keogh, Roisin O’ Mullane, Emer Hynes, Emma Mc Grath, Holly O’Loughlin, Molly O’ Connell, Aoibheann Hahessey, Jane Ghilardi, Deirdre Doherty(coach)
Front row: Katie Lee, Alanna Doherty, Aine Kierse, Dearbhla Rahilly, Holly Deegan, Aoibheann Rahilly, Aela Daly, Hannah Clune, Andrea Coffey, Niamh Morris, Kadijat Karimu